Font size

Community Power Committee

The Community Power Task Force was converted to the Community Power Committee by Select Board Vote on December 20, 2022, following the creation of the Peterborough Community Power Plan. 

The Community Power Task Force started working in September 2021 to develop a Community Power Plan for Peterborough. The plan was approved by the Select Board for placement on the ballot as Article 11 at 2022 Town Meeting.

Under the Peterborough Community Power Plan, the town will buy electricity in bulk for its residents and small businesses. The plan’s goal is to help ratepayers save money on their electric bills, while also getting more energy from renewable sources. The plan will be self-funding, with no amount to be raised from taxation.

Each ratepayer will be able to choose from among four optional rate tiers with varying percentages of renewable energy and rates, or they may opt-out of the plan if desired.

The following video provides a brief overview of the Peterborough Community Power Plan. For additional details, please explore the links on the left side bar.

The Community Power Committee consists of members: Joel Huberman and Tony Cassady, co-chairs, Michael Nadeau, secretary, Dori Drachman, Elaine Holden, Ed Juengst, and Steve Walker. Bruce Tucker is an alternate member. Bill Kennedy is the Select Board liaison.

For questions or additional information, please contact one the Task Force’s co-chairs, Joel Huberman ( or Tony Cassady (

Learn More